About Us

Introduction to The Association of Suffolk Golf Captains

The Association of Suffolk Golf Captains was first formed by a nucleus of Stoke by Nayland Captains in 1978. It now comprises some 332 members, both past and current Captains from most of the Suffolk Clubs. There are also nine associate members who are past Captains from clubs in other counties who now reside in Suffolk.

The Objects of the Association are to bring together all Captains of Clubs which are members of the Suffolk Golf Union so that the friendship formed during their terms may be preserved and their experience in the Royal and Ancient Game may be available to foster all aspects of Golf in the County of Suffolk.

During the playing year we have seven matches and two main meetings. The matches are against the Cambridge Captains, Essex Captains, the East Anglian Farmers, the Hertfordshire Captains, Norfolk Captains, Suffolk Lady Captains and the East Anglian branch of the Secretary’s Association.

Details of the matches are sent out in February each year, and the Spring Meeting in March and Autumn Meeting in August.The Annual Subscription is £10 and is payable by Standing Order on the first of March.


The Officers for the year 2017-18 are:

President - Chris Briggs Haverhill Golf Club

Vice President - Keith Cresswell Fynn Valley Golf Club

Past President - Brig Archer - Brett Vale Golf Club



Gary Slaymaker - Halesworth Golf Club

Garry Clark - Brett Vale Golf Club

John Pywell - Southwold Golf Club


Honorary Secretary

Paddy Lockwood 

Tel: 01787 280912