Menu

Members - Vets

 

Welcome to the Veterans' Section of the Golf Club.

All members over the age of 55 years are eligible to play for the Veterans in our friendly matches with other clubs. There are no handicap restrictions. The Veterans currently play 12 local clubs on a home and away basis during the summer months.

Teams consist of 12 players playing Fourball Betterball. Matches generally start at 8:30 am and are followed by a 2 course lunch. The current match fee is £20 to cover the cost of the match & lunch. Link to match results.

There is a trophy, kindly donated by Alan Fawcett, the 2015 Club Captain, for the Vet with the highest average points scoring record over the season’s matches. Link to Top Vet.

The Vets also hold Spring and Autumn Stableford meetings to which all Club members are invited.

The Veterans enter a team in the Felmingham Trophy knock-out competition each year. The age limit for this competition is 60 years and above. Again no handicap limit.

The Veterans run two internal competitions. The Winter Fourball (partners are drawn) Betterball match play knock-out and the Summer Singles knockout competition using the Stableford scoring system.

Many Vets are also part of the informal TaTs (Tuesday and Thursday morning “roll-up”) and participate in TaTs Spring & Autumn Away Days and also join in the De Meza and Dennis Purvey Memorial Trophy competitions.

The Veterans Committee for 2019 is:-
Chairman: Brian Crouch
Captain: Chris Reynolds
Secretary: Ray Andrews
Auditor: Norman Harkness
Treasurer: Keith Rogers
Competitions Secretary: Paul Pech
Match Secretary: John Cooke

Any queries please contact Chris Reynolds:-

Home: 01442-246693
Mobile: 07811-981435
Email: chrisreynolds60@hotmail.com

 

Vets' Section Diary for 2019

Thursday 7 Feb - Winter lunch - Grim's Dyke
Wednesday 3 Apr - Match v Chesham & Leyhill - Chesham & Leyhill
Tuesday 9 Apr - Match v Pinner Hill - Grim's Dyke
Tuesday 16 Apr - Match v West Herts - West Herts
Tuesday 23 Apr - Spring meeting & lunch - Grim's Dyke
Thursday 2 May - Match v Stanmore - Grim's Dyke
Tuesday 7 May - Match v Potters Bar - Grim's Dyke
Tuesday 14 May - Match v Harrow School - Harrow
Thursday 16 May - De Meza Trophy - Grim's Dyke
Thursday 23 May - Match v Batchworth Park - Batchworth Park
Tuesday 28 May - Match v Radlett Park - Radlett Park
Friday 7 Jun - Match v Harrow School - Grim's Dyke
Thursday 13 Jun - Match v Sudbury - Grim's Dyke
Thursday 20 Jun - Match v Pinner Hill - Pinner Hill
Monday 24 Jun - Match v West Middlesex - Grim's Dyke
Tuesday 2 Jul - Match v Chesham & Leyhill - Grim's Dyke
Tuesday 9 Jul - Match v West Herts - Grim's Dyke
Tuesday 16 Jul - Match v Batchworth Park - Grim's Dyke
Thursday 25 Jul - Match v Sudbury - Sudbury
Thursday 1 Aug - Match v Hartsbourne - Hartsbourne
Wednesday 7 Aug - Match v Stanmore - Stanmore
Friday 16 Aug - Match v West Middlesex - West Middlesex
Monday 19 Aug - Match v Mill Hill - Mill Hill
Tuesday 27 Aug - Match v Radlett Park - Grim's Dyke
Thursday 12 Sep - Autumn meeting & lunch - Grim's Dyke
Monday 16 Sep - Match v Aldenham - Grim's Dyke
Thursday 19 Sep - Match v Hartsbourne - Grim's Dyke
Tuesday 1 Oct - Match v Aldenham - Aldenham
Thursday 10 Oct - Dennis Purvey Memorial Trophy - Grim's Dyke
Sunday 10 Nov - Remembrance Day Lunch - Grim's Dyke